773, Nyu Media (2014) Playtime: 4 Hours

Introduction


Cherry Tree High I! My! Girls! is the sequel to Cherry Tree High Comedy Club. Unlike it's predecessor, I! My! Girls! is a full-on visual novel with no gameplay.

Personally this change in direction didn't bother me at all. The original's gameplay didn't have that much depth and could quickly become a chore/busywork so it's nicer to just focus on the story imo

Story


Unfortunately the story itself feels a little underbaked. Absolutely nothing happens in the story, there's no overarching plot or goal, no major character arcs or anything. It ends really abruptly and left me thinking "oh. okay.. that's the end I guess." It's kinda just a bunch of fluff. I suppose if you really enjoyed the characters from the first game, it's nice to see them interacting with eachother a bit more, but it's just a bit... flat

I'm not sure if it's just me but it feels like a little something is different about the writing/localization too, it feels like there's a lot less pop-culture references & jokes. That cringiness that I loved about the first game seems missing here.

Overall


The game window is kinda small, so I'd recommend using IntergerScaler or something to scale it up

There are only 3 new tracks in the OST which is a little disappointing with how decent the first one's was, but this track is really chill

I kinda skipped over it in my review of the first game but the character art is pretty good!

Overall I'd have to say it feels like this game kinda just... exists. It's not terrible or anything, there are a couple funny/cute moments. It just feels a little directionless. I still think it's worth checking out if you enjoyed the first game's writing, just don't expect anything super substantial.

Thanks for reading! I'm still new to writing reviews,
and mine probably suck, but I think it's kinda fun!
I think I'm gonna write more. ^o^